Inicio » Consortium at glance » Consortium partners

Consortium partners


The EMJMD STEPS is promoted by a partnership led by the University of Oviedo (ES), together with the University of Nottingham (UK), the University of Rome (IT) and the Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra (PT). Prestigious international universities, as the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Illinois (USA), the University of Santa Maria (BR) and the University of Yeungnam (KOR), and 16 global leading companies in energy and transportation sectors are associated members. Companies will be offering internships, and some senior staff will be teaching courses.

University of Oviedo

Logo Uniovi

Department of Electrical, Electronical, Computers and Systems (DIEECS) has got a strong specialization in the field of Power Electronics, Electrical Machines, AC drives and Energy Generation and Conversion. DIEECS has got over 100 research teachers and administrative staff, including 6 Full Professors, 53 Associated professors and 17 part-time professors. DIEECS' research output in Energy Conversion amounts to 43 indexed publications in the last 5 years, and another 18 accepted; 10 research projects in competitive terms; 20 PhD thesis and 5 patents in cooperation with other companies and institutions. The Department PhD programmes have been labelled since 2006 with the Quality Mention by the National Agency for Quality Accreditation.

DIEECS is one of the University leading departments by the amount of contracts and joint projects with companies and industry. It has attracted over EUR 5 million in research activities in the field of Power Electronics, Electrical Machines, AC drives and Energy Generation and Conversion within the last 5 years. Projects have been funded by Spanish government, EU and national and international companies. Besides, some of the researches in the department are actively involved in the International Campus of Excellence –"Cluster of Energy and Environment" from the University of Oviedo.HC Energía, Arcelor-Mittal, Alstom Transport, AZSA, Duro Felguera, Gamesa Electric, EdP, Iberdrola Renovable, Schneider Electric, Ford Motor Company are among their key partners. Some of them will be associated members to the EMJMD STEPS.

University of Nottingham

Logo Nottingham

Power Electronics, Machines and Control (PEMC) Group is one of the largest research groups in its field worldwide, and has world leading research activities across a range of fields including Power Electronic Energy Conversion, Conditioning and Control Power Electronics Integration, Packaging and Thermal Management Motor Drives and Motor Control, and Electrical Machines. As of January 2011 the Group has 9 academics, and a research grant portfolio of over £16M earned from UK government, EU, national and international industry, and UK and US defence bodies. The PEMC Group has very strong links with industry, both nationally and internationally, ranging from component suppliers to OEMs, The Group plays key roles at University level within the Energy Technologies Research Institute (ETRI) and the newly formed Aerospace Research Institute, and has recently opened new experimental facilities - the Aerospace Research Centre.

MOET, CleanSky (JTI), Scarlett, UniFlex are among their EU key funders in their research field. Besides, the PEMC has participated in some knowledge transfer partnerships with Cummins, Alstom and Dynex, and their international funded research includes collaborations with Boeing, US Army laboratories, Eon, ABB, TRW and Zytec.

University of Rome

Logo Sapienza

Department of Astronautical, Electric and Energetic Engineering is composed by 22 full professors, 17 associate professors and 27 assistant professors. The Department is in charge of 2 BS, 3 MS and 4 PhD degrees. The Department activity and vitality is testified by about 200 publications in indexed journals in the last five years and by about EUR 4 million in research funds, granted by the EU, the Italian Government, several public and private companies.

Institute Polytechnic of Coimbra (IPC)

Logo Coimbra

Department of Electrical Engineering (DEE) has more than 30 years of experience in advanced technical training in the areas of electrical and electromechanical engineering. It has 13 fully-equipped laboratories for teaching and researching purposes and 3 full professors and 35 associate professors. The department has been intensively involved in ERASMUS mobility programs. The Department has bilateral agreements nearly 40 universities from Germany, Spain, Finland, France, Italy, Holland, Norway, Poland, England, Czech Republic, Romania, Estonia, Belgium and Denmark. They also collaborate with Universidade Federal da Uberlândia from Brasil and University of Sakaya and University of Namik Kemal from Turkey.

DEE professors are member of several R&D Units of the Portuguese Plurianual Funding Programme and Associate Laboratories, and are actively involved in several fields of research, namely, Electric Power Systems, Renewable Energies, Energy Management, Power Electronics, Electrical Motor Driven Systems, Electric Vehicles, Robotics and Communications. They have supervised over than 150 M.Sc. thesis, published more than 50 indexed papers and participated in more than 35 European and Portuguese research and development projects, most of them in cooperation with Portuguese and international companies, and other R&D institutions. Active Space Technologies, DKM Control, MAHLE, Martifer, Minimenergy, Olympus, Optieng, and Sramport are among the Department key partners. Some of them are associated members to the EMJMD STEPS.

New admission period self-financing students

In order to facilitate access to students who were not able to process their applications in the first phase of the selection process for the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD), The University of Oviedo has announced a new admission period aimed at 8 self-financing students

Read more

Follow us:



  • Centro Internacional de Postgrado
  • Plaza de Riego s/n. Edificio Histórico 33003 Oviedo
  • +34 985 10 49 17 / +34 985 10 49 18